*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://writing.com/main/forums/message_id/3040885
Printer Friendly Page Tell A Friend
(676)
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Writing.Com · #126963
A warm welcome to our newbies; come meet new and not-so-new members of Writing.Com!
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Nov 13, 2016 at 6:38pm
Bob's Expanded Introduction
Hello, folks; I'm Bob. It may very well be that I've introduced myself before, but here's an expanded edition.

I'm retired military and now freshly retired high school English teacher with time, as they say, on my hands. I'm trying to play the banjo semi-semi-semi-professionally, and writing some pulpy science fiction in the meantime.

When I was a teacher, we had a sort of writing club at school, which I ran. In order to set an example, I wrote 1000 words a day as part of that. We did that for an entire school year, and the kids who participated for the whole year got their bits collected into a bound volume--and so did I. That book, called "Twenty Minutes to Deadline" is presently available on Amazon and in other places too.

It's been several years since I was that steady in my writing, but I did enjoy that, so I'm doing it again now and posting it on my WdC blog. The bits are 1000 or more words each, and none of them bear any particular connection of any other--they're what I call text sketches, just little pieces that may (or most likely may not) be expanded into a real, you know, story at some point.

I do them off the top of my head and they receive no editing or review really of any kind--in them, you see writing directly as it is done, as opposed to any other publication, which is drafted, edited, puzzled over, second-guessed, corrected, ad nauesum. Like most writers, I very much dislike being edited, and it is this dislike more than anything else that discourages me from ever submitting anything to a real publisher. I'm not kidding about that.