*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://writing.com/main/forums/message_id/1420325
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Writing · #980111
A sanctuary for weary writers, inky wretches, and aspiring professional novelists.
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Dec 20, 2006 at 10:24am
Re: "Don't prostitute your art that way"
*chuckles* Seems we're at a loss to find anyone in here that believes selling our work is prostitution. Then again I'm all for prostitution, if I could make a living selling my body I probably would, it must be easier then being a writer by trade. *ponders and winks* As for me, I think since I write full time and have a house and two kids to feed and clothe it would be a pitiful existance if I didn't earn anything from writing. I'd actually have to go out and get one of those 'day job' things people keep telling me about.

Writers sell a service. It's something unique, that no one could offer exactly the same way we do and as such it's especially valuable. People want to be entertained. People around the world love to read. We provide them with content, they reward our time, effort, and sweat with the means to sustain life. It's like saying a brickie's going to lay bricks just cause he likes the fact he's building a house. Yeah RIGHT! Give me the number of a brickie who works on that mindset. Carpenters love to carve and work wood but they can't do what they love if they don't sell the chair they just made. How would they continue to afford more wood? Artists in all modes 'prostitute' their art. The only ones who don't must be very rich from other means, have a 'real job', or like to live in a gutter scrapping the cheese off empty pizza boxes from garbage cans.