Printed from https://writing.com/main/forums/message_id/3161223
Rated: GC · Message Forum · Community · #2146092
A support forum for writers dealing with mental illness
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Feb 4, 2018 at 10:42pm
Arsuit's Introduction
by Arsuit
I’m a 29-year-old law school student, currently living in Valparaiso, IN, about an hour and a half from Chicago.

I’ve always prided myself on keeping it together no matter what life throws my way. I never thought that I could have a mental-health issue, and, as such, I never sought or received any diagnosis. I suffered the occasional bout of loneliness, sure, but nothing serious - that is, until a few months ago when everything seemed to collapse before my very eyes.

I heard all the stories about the stresses of law school driving students to depression, alcoholism, drug abuse, and even suicide. But that could never happen to me, right? I was strong, or so I thought. At first, it was the little things that slowly gnawed away at me: I fell a bit behind on the reading for one of my classes, I had to buy my cat new food to replace the old food that she suddenly didn’t want, my best friend was spending more time with her boyfriend, and my fiancee jokingly flirted with some of her friends for whom she had no romantic feelings.

Then, in November 2017, everything seemed to hit at once. I fell at least a week behind on all my classes (but it wouldn’t cost me anything as long as I caught up before finals), my cat died in my arms (I rescued her from a shelter and she lived a good life), I hadn’t heard from my best friend in several weeks (she was battling her own depression), and my fiancee kissed those friends in front of me (the kiss was also a joke to her). I pulled myself together long enough to get caught up in all my school work, but I was simply going through the motions. I no longer cared about the light at the end of the tunnel; I’m not even sure what motivated me to press on.