*Magnify*
SPONSORED LINKS
Printed from https://writing.com/main/forums/message_id/2778790
Printer Friendly Page Tell A Friend
(676)
Rated: 13+ · Message Forum · Writing.Com · #126963
A warm welcome to our newbies; come meet new and not-so-new members of Writing.Com!
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Jan 10, 2015 at 8:43am
An invitation to an adventure!
Hello, my name is Mark, and I’m a writer. I haven’t written for 7 days. Kind of feels like “Writer’s Anonymous”, huh? Ever since I picked up my first book, I’ve always wanted to be a writer. I grew up on a small farm in the country, and we had three tv channels. As you can imagine, there was a lot of reading that went on in my house. As I read about great ancient civilizations, significant historical events, and faraway places, I came to realize that history wasn’t shaped by great leaders, kings, or warlords. History was shaped by the people who wrote about the events of their day. Everything that we perceive about the past comes from something that we have read. Our very existence dictates that we all become storytellers in some form or fashion. Our lives are shaped by our experiences in the world, and it’s up to us to choose how we tell that story.

Although this is meant to be an introduction of sorts, the real reason that I have come here today is to invite you on an epic adventure. It sounds cliche, even I winced when I wrote it, but it’s true. I have cerebral palsy and started losing my ability to walk about six month ago. I ended up on two crutches with knee pain so severe that I couldn’t walk more than five minutes at a time. I’m a husband, father, and professional geek, and I’ve built an entire life on the premise that I would be walking around with one crutch.