No ratings.
Rated: E · Message Forum · Other · #1804552
New Horizons Academy birthday greetings to Writing.com
<< Previous  •  Message List  •  Next >>
Reply  •  Post New
Aug 31, 2011 at 12:57pm
Happy Birthday WDC & Thank You!
Happy Birthday WDC!

I’m Katz, (aka Katzendragonz) and I’m an instructor with New Horizons Academy here on WDC.

I’ve been a member since 2005. In all honesty, I can’t remember for sure how I first learned about WDC. I suspect it was from a fellow member of an online writing group I was in.

I joined WDC because I was intrigued by a place for writers and readers to connect. I love what I found here, especially the great teaching available to anyone with a few GP's saved up, a price even I can afford. In my early writing days, I would have done just about anything to get good teaching, but that was long before anyone even conceived of a personal computer, let alone the Internet.

A whole new world opened up for me when I jumped on the Internet train. I learned more about writing, and writing well, from the people in the various online writing groups I joined, than I had in years of school and college. When it came to learning on Writing.com, I first was a student at the, now defunct, A1 Writing Academy. I learned a great deal from the folks who donated their time and experience to aspiring writers there. Enough so, that a year later the director drafted me to become an instructor.

I can't even begin to say how much I learned as I taught, and still learn as I teach, and what a wonderful feeling it is to be able to give to others what I craved so much and for so long as a young person. In my life, I've been given so many things that I never dreamed I'd ever be able have. As my way of saying Thank You, I give to others whenever I can. It seems though - especially at New Horizons - that I always end up receiving much more than I give.